rogue-one-film-image

 

My hubby and son took me to see this movie this past weekend.  I can’t offer a comprehensive review as we were all under the weather with colds at the time; but I will give you my impressions of it.

Rogue One will be one of at least three stand-alone films in the Star Wars’ anthology.  The second one is slated to show how Hans Solo became the smuggler and scoundrel we’d all come to love.  I’m looking forward to that one.  🙂

Back to Rogue One.  This film ties in or is a prequel if you will to Star Wars: A New Hope in that it follows a small group of Rebels as they attempt to steal the schematics of the Imperial’s Death Star.

For me, this movie answered my questions of how the Rebels discovered the Death Star’s weakness that ultimately doomed the Imperial’s superweapon.

The characters, for the most part, were memorable.  Especially the  reprogrammed security droid for the Empire, K-2SO (aka Kay-Tuesso) now fighting with the Rebels, who stole many scenes in the film with his humorous personality.  I dare say that I almost liked him better than C-3PO!

rogue-one-droid-k2so

 

My other favorite character would be the spiritual warrior Chirrut Îmwe (played by Donnie Yen) who believed he’s one with the Force.  He’s not just a fierce fighting warrior, he’s also BLIND.   Being legally blind myself, I fell in love with this character’s tenacity and outlook on what was really going on around him.  I wished he had a much larger part in the movie.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story Donnie Yen (Chirrut Imwe) Behind the Scenes on set during production. Ph: Footage Frame ©Lucasfilm LFL 2016.

 

The music score of the film was enjoyable, and the storyline moved at a steady pace between drama and action scenes.

If you’re a true fan of the Star Wars films, you will find this one well-worth the time to see!

 

 

 

 

